2019 Women in Business

On Tuesday, California State Senator Anthony J. Portantino (La Cañada Flintridge) hosted the annual Women in Business - Legislative Update & Awards Luncheon at The Castaway in Burbank, California. This year the annual event hosted over 445 guests. The main objective of the event was to celebrate exceptional women whose professional skills and commitment to their community have made them outstanding leaders and role models. The careers of the honorees varied across the spectrum of professions, including science and technology, corporate and small business, environmental protection, and non-profit organizations.


Guests were greeted with the musical performance of the Pasadena Conservatory of Music. Canter Ruth Berman-Harris, one of this years honorees in the “Inspirational” category started the program with a poignant song of peace to honor the victims of tragedies locally and around the county, followed by the Senators Legislative update and after lunch, Seismologist Dr. Lucy Jones gave an informative and eye opening keynote address.


Below you will find the honorees and the categories they were being honored for.


Young Entrepreneur

Monique Vobecky (Glendora)

Rhiannon Gillis (Atwater Village)

Delilah Curry (South Pasadena)



Ellen Ligons (Pasadena)

Sally De Witt (San Marino)


Small Businesswoman

Meredith Miller (Altadena)

Linda Sells (Monrovia)

Keshia L. Bowen (Monrovia)



D’Aquino Imports (Duarte)

Patricia, D’Aquino

Bianca Vobecky (Glendora)


Non Profit Executive Director

Judith Arandes (Burbank)

Marianna Gatto (LA)

Debra Manners (Pasadena)

Tina Hughes (Upland)

Tara Peterson (Glendale)

Michelle Kim (Pasadena)


Non Profit Employee  

Barbara Miller (Burbank)

Vickie Reinhardt (Pasadena)



 Nancy E. Guillen (Burbank)

 Talin Yacoubian (LA)

 Margie Green (San Dimas)

 Sonja Stump (Claremont)

 Veronica Chavoor (Burbank)

 Christina Ellixson (Burbank)

 Jennifer Choi (La Canada)



 Filipino American Business Association

 of Glendale

 Armenian Relief Society/ WR

 Glendale Council PTA



Reverend Cassie McCarty (Glendale)

Cantor Ruth Berman Harris (Pasadena)



Genoveva Talbott (Claremont)

Judge Armenui A. Ashvanian (Glendale)

Lucy Varpetian (Glendale)

Diane Lambillotte (Glendale)


Environment & Sustainability

 Dominique Hargreaves (Pasadena)

 Susana Reyes (Glendale)



Dr. Alexandra Levine (Duarte)

Dr. Andrea Brault (San Dimas)

Dr. Wendy Shem Yeh (Pasadena)

Dr. Srpouhi Gasparyan (Pasadena)



Ani Keshishian (Montrose)

Rebeca Andrade (La Crescenta)

Taline Krikorian Arsenian (Glendale)

Sharon Cuseo (Burbank)



Nina Crowe (Glendale)

Marlene Hitt (Sunland Tujunga)

Anna Sheklow (La Crescenta)