Press Releases

Tuesday, January 9 2018

Sacramento, California – Today, the Senate Judiciary Committee unanimously passed SB 419, the Legislative Sexual Harassment Retaliation Prevention Act, with bi-partisan support. It is now headed to the full Senate Floor for a vote. SB 419 is authored by Senator Anthony J. Portantino, D – La Cañada Flintridge and Senator Connie M. Leyva, D - Chino. It currently has 10 Co-authors and continues to add more. SB 419 proposes to extend protections against all forms of harassment for legislative staffers, legislative advocates and others who have business within the California State Capital.

Tuesday, November 21 2017

Burbank, California – On Saturday, November 18, 2017, Senator Anthony J. Portantino (D–La Cañada Flintridge) hosted a panel of experts who discussed Do’s and Don’ts after the La Tuna Fire.  The forum was held at Woodbury University and was Livestreamed to the Senator’s Facebook page, available for viewing at  

Friday, October 27 2017

La Verne, California – Today, State Senator Anthony J. Portantino had the privilege, along with the La Verne Chamber of Commerce and the University of La Verne Small Business Development Center, of hosting a Business Walk in Downtown La Verne.  The Senator met with business owners and community leaders to hear concerns and learn how he can best support local small businesses in his district.

Thursday, October 12 2017

Pasadena, California – This evening, Senator Anthony J. Portantino will be recognized as the recipient of the Civic Award by the Pasadena Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) at the 32nd Ruby McKnight Williams Awards Dinner. The Pasadena NAACP will be honoring Senator Portantino for his outstanding commitment to public service and continuous support of the communities he serves.

Monday, October 9 2017

Sacramento, California – Today, Governor Brown signed SB 400 by Senator Anthony Portantino, D – La Cañada Flintridge, which requires Caltrans to freeze the rent of its tenants who participate in the “Affordable Rent Program” until January 1, 2020.