In the News

Wednesday, September 19 2018

It seems like every La Cañadan living within earshot of the Foothill (210) Freeway agrees the city needs more protective sound walls. But the question of how to fund them is older than the city itself.

In May, city officials learned state Sen. Anthony Portantino (D-La Cañada Flintridge) had secured $5 million in funding through a program under SB 1, a state transportation funding bill that instituted gas and vehicle tax hikes on California motorists.

Tuesday, September 18 2018

Governor Jerry Brown has signed a suicide prevention bill that seeks to amend the state’s Education Act and require schools to print suicide prevention hotlines on students’ identification cards.

SB 972, authored by Pasadena-area Senator Anthony Portantino, requires the printing of the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline, the Crisis Text Line, and a local suicide prevention hotline number, on the ID cards of students in public, charter, and private schools serving pupils in grades 7 to 12 and those in higher education.

Friday, September 14 2018

The numbers associated with public education in California are truly immense. Nearly 10 million students, the vast majority of them children, attend kindergartens, elementary schools, high schools and colleges supported by upwards of $100 billion from taxpayers each year. The bottom line rationale is producing new generations of Californians who are creative, productive and civic-minded. SB 328, carried by Sen. Anthony Portantino, a Democrat from La Canada Flintridge, requires, with few exceptions, middle and high schools to begin classes no earlier than 8:30 a.m.

Friday, September 7 2018

We all know a teenager who is nearly impossible to get out of bed in the morning. And research provides some relatively simple answers why: Sleep cycles make it hard for teenagers to fall asleep before 11 p.m. — and that does not leave them enough time to get a full night’s rest before school starts the next morning.

Thursday, September 6 2018

California legislators passed a dozen new restrictions on gun purchases and access in the waning hours of this year’s legislative session, amassing what is likely to be the most ambitious effort by any state to combat mass shootings and suicides using firearms.

“Listening to the Stoneman Douglas students and the parents, there was a plea there for us to step up,” said state Sen. Anthony Portantino (D).