In the News

Thursday, March 1 2018

The chairman of the state Senate’s budget subcommittee on education and three other Democratic senators are proposing to add $1.2 billion to what Gov. Jerry Brown is budgeting for the Local Control Funding Formula. It’s the first stake in the ground in what could be protracted negotiations over ongoing education spending in the governor’s final state budget.

Thursday, March 1 2018

Even though California has some of the strictest gun laws in the country, an 18-year-old can still buy an AR-15 rifle as long as it lacks a detachable magazine and other features that define it under state law as an assault weapon.

But after a 19-year-old man allegedly used a legally purchased AR-15 to kill 17 students and staffers last month at a high school in Parkland, Fla., California legislators began turning their attention to the age issue.

Wednesday, February 28 2018

California would raise the minimum age for purchasing a rifle and other long guns from 18 to 21 under legislation proposed Wednesday in response to the recent mass shooting at a Florida high school.

The measure by state Sen. Anthony Portantino (D–La Cañada Flintridge) would also ban the purchase of more than one firearm by individuals in any 30-day period.

Wednesday, February 28 2018

A state senator is pushing a bill to raise the minimum age to legally purchase rifles and shotguns in California to 21.

Sen. Anthony Portantino, D-La Cañada Flintridge, amended Senate Bill 1100 on Wednesday to prohibit someone from purchasing more than one gun in 30 days and to increase the age limit to buy all firearms to 21.

Wednesday, February 28 2018

While the California Legislature can only set policy for the state's nearly 40 million residents, its ambitions are often much grander. With, we are often reminded, one of the largest economies in the world to dangle and deploy for influence, lawmakers regularly wade into issues on the global stage, thousands of miles from California's borders.