All News

Monday, April 23 2018

Sacramento, California- Today, both houses of the California State Legislature passed resolutions recognizing the Armenian Genocide and urged Washington to follow California’s lead. State Senator Anthony Portantino, D–La Cañada Flintridge, authored the Senate Resolution 107 along with Senate President Pro Tempore Toni Atkins, Senate Pro Tempore Emeritus Kevin de-Leon, Senator Wilk, and Senator Newman.

Monday, April 23 2018

Both houses of the California State Legislature on Monday passed resolutions recognizing the Armenian Genocide and urging Washington, which continues to deny the systematic murder of 1.5 million Armenians in 1915, to follow suit. The legislature also held a State Capitol observance for the 103rd anniversary.

Monday, April 23 2018

Key California lawmakers who shape education policy are questioning Gov. Jerry Brown’s plan to dramatically overhaul how community colleges are funded. The proposal calls for tying some money to student outcomes, moving away from a model that funds colleges largely based on how many students they enroll.

“I think there are valid concerns on this whole thing,” said Senator Anthony J. Portantino (D – La Cañada Flintridge), chair of Budget and Fiscal Review Subcommittee No. 1 on Education, during a Thursday hearing discussing Brown’s plan.

Thursday, April 19 2018

The effort to extend California's filming tax credit beyond its 2020 expiration date has passed a key government hurdle, moving the initiative closer to a vote by the state's legislative body.

On Wednesday, the Senate Governance and Finance Committee gave its stamp of approval to the bill, known as SB 832, which would extend the tax credit program by five years to 2025. The bill would keep the annual limit of new credits at its current level of $330 million.

Thursday, April 19 2018

The state Senate’s Public Safety Committee has passed SB 1100 authored by Pasadena-area state Sen. Anthony J. Portantino, D-La Canada-Flintridge.

The bill would prohibit anyone from making more than one firearm purchase within a 30-day period in California, and increases the age requirement for purchasing any firearm to 21 years.

Portantino said he was proud of Tuesday’s vote.